Featured Events

Suicide Bereavement Support Group Facilitator’s Network Quarterly Gathering

April 11, 2024

The SBSGFN brings together a community of people who are currently facilitating a suicide bereavement support group so they can share knowledge, develop best practices, and support each other. Being involved with this network offers support for facilitators through the sharing of experiences and knowledge transfer and reduces the isolation experienced by individual facilitators in both rural, urban, and isolated regions across Canada.

Are you currently facilitating a suicide bereavement support group?
You’re invited to our next gathering. 

“Challenges in Groups; Mitigating Risks, Restoring Balance” 

Suicide Bereavement Support Group Facilitators Network’s (SBSGFN) Quarterly Gathering 

“Challenges in Groups; Mitigating Risks, Restoring Balance” 

Thursday, April 11, 2024, 1:00-2:30 PM EDT (90 minutes) Live via Zoom 

10:00 am PDT / 11:00 am MDT / 12:00 pm CDT / 1:00 pm EDT / 2:00 pm ADT / 2:30 pm NDT 

Suicide bereavement support groups offer those impacted by suicide loss an opportunity for connection, understanding, belonging, hope and healing. Bereavement support groups, and groups in general, face challenges that can threaten the safety and cohesion of the group. We are pleased to welcome special guests, Aida Cabecinha and Terry Simonik, from the Toronto Institute for Group Studies, and Jocelyne Ludgate, who has lived experience of suicide loss and suicide bereavement support groups, for an interactive discussion about the various challenges that can arise in groups, how to mitigate the risks associated with these challenges and restore balance, safety and continued healing within the group.

Aida Cabecinha, Reg.OT (Ont.); DipCGPA; FCGPA

Aida is a registered Occupational Therapist, Psychotherapist with 39 years’ experience as a mental health clinician and group therapist who has worked in hospital and community sectors. Currently, she has a private psychotherapy practice in Toronto offering both individual and group psychotherapy. As a Co-Director and a faculty member of the Toronto Institute of Group Studies, she is committed to building the capacity of group leaders to potentiate the healing power of group. Her group practice is informed by psychodynamic, interpersonal neurobiology, attachment and system centered approaches.

Terry Simonik MEd, RP, FCGPA

Terryis a former nurse and Registered Psychotherapist in Private Practice in Toronto offering individual therapy, group therapy and consultation. Terry is a past-president and Fellow of the Canadian Group Psychotherapy Association. Her leadership style has been shaped by her training in psychodynamic, systems centered, narrative and interpersonal therapy. Throughout her career, group dynamics and group leadership have been an abiding passion and Terry is honoured to share this passion and encourage the development of other group leaders through her role as a Co-Director of the Toronto Institute of Group Studies.

Registration is closed.

If you are interested in learning how to implement a suicide bereavement support group, please email us and request to be placed on our waiting list for any future groups we start for new facilitators.